Recommender Grants

for Theatre Creators

Since 2010, Studio 180 Theatre has had the privilege of being one of the recommending organizations for the Ontario Arts Council’s Recommender Grants for Theatre Creators, which assists theatre creators in developing new work.

Over the years, we have been introduced to countless incredible artists through this program, and have been proud to support many projects that have gone on to receive full-scale productions, as well as several that have continued to be workshopped through our Studio 180 IN DEVELOPMENT program.


Applications are currently closed. Please check back in the Fall to apply for the 2022 Recommender Grants.

Past recipients


Ghazal Azarbad & Marie Farsi – REAL
Marie Beath Badian – Common Part III: Chester Breaks His Glasses
Katia Café-Fébrissy – A Summer With My Karen
Sara Farb – Love Us Most
Rebecca Gibian & Natasha Mumba – Sarah Forbes Bonetta
Caroline Toal – Survivors
Taylor Trowbridge – Tool For Rebellion

RGTC Recipients 2021


Lauren Brotman – her room
Rachel Ganz – Kibbitz
Amanda Lin 林美珠 – Between a Wok and a Hot Pot
Rachel Mutombo – 6×10
Sarena Parmar – The Untitled Witch Project
Ali Joy Richardson – Dad
Julie Tepperman – Man Up!

RGTC Recipients 2020


Bad Muse Collective, Love You Wrong Time
Maheen Hyder, When Armed Birds Fly
Jason Maghanoy, Big
Robert Motum, Future Tenses
Rose Napoli, Legacy
Ngozi Paul, The 1st Time Project Presents – A Documentary Play
The Henry G20 Group, Henry G20
Jennifer Wigmore, Measure² 

RGTC Recipients 2019


Isad Etemadi-Shad, We Are Not The Others
Yolanda Bonnell, White Girls in Moccasins
Bilal Baig, blue eyes killed him without blinking
Sunny Drake, CHILD-ISH
Sam Kalilieh, Palestineman
Broadleaf Theatre (Kevin Matthew Wong & Mirka Loiselle), 
The Chemical Valley Project
Andrea Scott, Controlled Damage
Natasha Greenblatt & Rimah Jabr, Two Birds One Stone

RGTC Recipients 2018


Alison Lawrence, The Right
Amy Rutherford, Mortified
Daniel Bennett, Views
Darrah Teitel, Behaviour
Polly Phokeev, How We Are Part III: Lecture

RGTC Recipients 2017


Lisa Karen Cox, From The Ashes
Sehar Bhojani, Intifada
Jason Sherman, Ariel’s Wall
Sunny Drake, Sweetie 3.0
Paula Wing, Carl


Sean Devine, Daisy
Caroline Gillis, Don’t Fall Down
Diane Flacks, Unholy
Audrey Dwyer, Calpurnia
Johnnie Walker, Shove it Down My Throat


Jordan Tannahill, This is Not a Bomb
Kate Cayley, Student
Nada Humsi, My Name is Dahkel Faraj


Damien Atkins, Michael Rising
Alex Poch-Goldin, Internazionale
Anusree Roy, Little Pretty and the Exceptional
Eric Woolfe, Man of Mystery


Paul Dunn, Memorial
Andrew Kushnir & Alan Dilworth, Small Axe
Pamela Sinha, Happy Place


Marie Beath Badian, The Good Work of Armando the Apostle
Jenn Buffett, Small Soldiers
Natasha Greenblatt, The Peace Maker
Jonathan Seinen, Redway, California


Ravi Jain (Why Not Theatre), Komagata Maru
Sonja Mills (Union Eight Theatre), Oil Man
Liza Balkan, Out the Window
Christopher Morris (Human Cargo), Petawawa

Studio 180 Theatre has been proud to support 68 artists working on 63 projects over the last 11 years.